With a number of states in the U.S. offering legal medical marijuana, many traveling patients want to know if their card can be used in other states besides the one it was issued in. Not many states currently permit this, but there are still some. Check out these states that currently allow patients to use their medical cards from out of state.
For a state with some of the strictest marijuana laws in the country, it’s no surprise there is a catch here. You can enjoy your medicine while in the state, but if you run out, you’re out of luck. If you obtained marijuana from the state your card was issued in, you are free to possess and use it in Arizona without penalty. However, according to
The Arizona Department of Health Services, “a visiting patient is not authorized to obtain marijuana from a dispensary because the dispensary is required in statute to access a verification system before dispensing marijuana.”
If you’re looking to enhance the captivating landscape of Arizona, do so with some self-control, because you won’t be able to re-up your stash.
If you’re visiting Arkansas, or have been a resident for less than 30 days, you can buy weed “from a dispensary with the completion of a visiting patient form and producing evidence of his or her registry identification card or its equivalent,” according to the Arkansas Department of Health. You must have your medical card with you, and adhere to the limitations on possession, which allow up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 14 days.
District of Columbia
Out-of-staters visiting Washington, DC can purchase marijuana if they are “from jurisdictions with a functionally equivalent Medical Marijuana Program,” effective April of 2018.
Anyone looking to take a vacation to this tropical paradise may be excited to hear that Hawaii will now be accepting out-of-state medical cards. However, there are some limitations to this. Medical cardholders will have to apply for a temporary card that will be valid for up to 60 days and must have a debilitating condition as defined by this list. If you wish to apply for a temporary card you may register here. Make sure to allow yourself plenty of time, conditions such as cancer or hospice will receive priority. Back to Map
Much like Arizona, this state allows qualified patients to possess marijuana, but does not allow for purchase within the state. You can have up to two ounces, and will not be able to visit a dispensary to get more if you run out.
Check out He-C 401.16 Visiting Qualifying Patients for more information.
Medical marijuana patients from other states may possess and purchase cannabis from Oklahoma, but first they must apply for a temporary patient license. Temporary licenses are valid for 30 days, but are not eligible if they exceed the expiration date of the patient’s state-issued medical card. A temporary patient costs $100, and a license can be renewed after 30 days.
The application requires documentation of the out-of-state license, proof of identity, a clear photograph of the patient, and other personal details.
Check out the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority’s temporary patient information for more details.
There is one loophole that allows medical marijuana patients to obtain cannabis from Pennsylvania, but it only applies to parents or legal guardians of patients under the age of 18. Under Pennsylvania law, it is legal for parents or guardians to purchase cannabis out of state, for the sole purpose of administering to the minor. Unfortunately, this portion of the law is set to be repealed in the next two years.
Check out the Pennsylvania Department of Health for more information on medical marijuana in the state.
Dispensaries in Rhode Island began selling to out-of-state medical marijuana patients in 2018, and they keep the rules pretty simple. You’ll need to present two forms of government ID, and you must already be in a state database that tracks sales.
Out-of-state patients can have up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 15 days.
States with databases that track sales: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, New York, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Washington.
Legal Recreational Adult-Use States
Anyone over the age of 21 can purchase cannabis within the state’s legal limits. You can have up to one ounce of cannabis in your possession or up to three flowering or mature personal-use plants.
For more information, check out the state’s responsible consumer guide.
The first state to legalize medical marijuana has come a long way. In 2018, the state legalized cannabis for anyone over the age of 21. You can have about an ounce of flower or up to six plants for cultivation.
Check out this list of regulations for more information.
Colorado was the first state to legalize recreational cannabis, and still a favorite destination for visitors. Non-residents may possess up to one ounce, but cannot purchase more than ¼ ounce at a time.
Refer to the state’s guide for more information.
As of 2016, recreational cannabis is legal in Maine. The limit is 2.5 ounces for both medical patients and recreational users. Without a medical card, anyone over the age of 21 can purchase cannabis in the state with government-issued identification.
Check out this guide for more information.
Residents approved Proposition 4 in 2016, legalizing recreational marijuana in Massachusetts. As of November 2018, the state has opened dispensaries for adults over 21 to purchase cannabis. Users are allowed to possess up to one ounce at a time.
The rules are a little confusing in Michigan, and many were still uncertain about what can and cannot be done when the law took effect. Users in the state can possess up to 2.5 ounces at a time with no penalty. However, they cannot purchase within the state.
Refer to the state’s guide for more information.
Nevada’s marijuana laws are pretty straightforward. Anyone over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce of cannabis at a time, though medical patients in state can have up to 2.5 ounces within a 14-day period.
Check out the state’s guide on possession and consumption for more information.
Oregon’s marijuana laws are also fairly simple and straightforward. Adults over 21 can have up to one ounce of flower, 72 ounces of cannabis-infused liquid, or five grams of concentrate.
For more information, check out this FAQ.
The state passed Initiative 502 in 2012, becoming the second state to legalize recreational use of cannabis. Much like Oregon, anyone over 21 may possess up to one ounce of flower, 16 ounces of edibles, 72 ounces of infused liquids, or seven ounces of concentrates.
Check out the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board’s guide for more information.