One of the most interesting policies of California's new cannabis regulations is that marijuana delivery is legal everywhere in California, even in towns that have opted to ban cannabis-related businesses. This makes California the first (and only) state to legalize home delivery across all municipalities. These new rules guarantee legal protections to more than 100 state-licensed delivery companies and their customers.
Of course, despite statewide legalization of marijuana delivery services, there are definitely some things you should know before you start ordering your cannabis to be delivered. From how much you can get delivered at one time to how you know your delivery service is legal, here's everything you need to know about how marijuana delivery works in California.
How Much Weed Can You Get Delivered At One Time?
It depends on what you’re buying. For non-concentrated cannabis, retailers are allowed to sell a consumer up 28.5 grams. For concentrated cannabis, retailers are allowed to sell up to eight grams. For immature cannabis plants, the limit is six.
For medical marijuana purchases, retailers are not allowed to sell more than eight ounces of medicinal cannabis in the form of dried mature flowers (or the plant conversion as 12 immature cannabis plants).
This is all in regards to single day purchases. It should also be noted that California law limits consumers to possess one ounce at a time, meaning you can only purchase more once you use it or give it away. Of course, you can’t sell your product legally as a means of “giving it away,” but you’re allowed to share.
How Do You Know If A Delivery Service Is Legal?
Weed delivery is legal everywhere within the state of California, including in municipalities that have banned cannabis. This is because of those new rules and regulations issued by The Bureau of Cannabis Control (BCC), the Department of Food and Agriculture and the Department of Public Health. Language was included that explicitly authorized the service after several law enforcement officials in locales that have banned pot insisted they could arrest licensed drivers. This is not true.
You can also view a list of state-licensed delivery services here.
Can Someone Else Accept My Delivery?
Nope. You must be the one to receive your order. Upon delivery, your driver will ask for a valid ID to confirm your identity as well as that you are 21 years of age, the legal age of purchase and consumption of marijuana.
How Are Taxes Calculated?
There are three types of taxes on cannabis:
Excise taxes: A state tax - this one adds up to around 15 percent of retail. It is tied to the wholesale price. This is the highest and most consistent tax on pot and it cannot be avoided.
Sales and use taxes: Another state tax. According to Eaze’s FAQ page, these “rates start at 7.25% California-wide, but grow quickly to 10 percent or more as jurisdictions add "district" taxes, some of them overlapping. It is generally the second-highest tax on cannabis.”
Local taxes: Some California cities and counties will tax licensed retailers that operate within their borders. The rates will vary. Some will be nothing and others will charge as much as 10 percent. However, most consumers will see an upcharge of five to seven percent for this tax.
It should be noted that consumers with state-issued medical marijuana cards are exempt from paying Sales and Use Taxes on their purchases. However, they still must pay the Excise and Local Cannabis Taxes.
How Much Pot Can Delivery Vehicles Carry At One Time?
The limit, according to Times-Standard, is $5,000 worth of product. As well, markings on delivery vehicles can’t indicate, in any way, shape or form, that the vehicles are carrying cannabis. This is by law.
How old do I have to be to be a delivery driver?
You must be 21 years of age in order to be a delivery driver.
Overall, recreational cannabis is still a nascent and growing industry, and it will take time and some trial and error for legalized states to adapt to new rules and regulations. California has a unique set of challenges due to the sheer size of the state, as well as the state’s black market. According to the New York Times, California has a huge industry producing the plant, most of which is illegally sold across state line, and according to one estimate, California produces seven times more marijuana than it consumes.
Despite these challenges, the industry is still growing and these new rules and regulations some say will help undermine the black market and increase legal sale, specifically because of delivery services. So, in the meantime, enjoy your delivery services, and be sure to be up-to-date on the latest cannabis industry news to make sure you’re an educated consumer.
5 Marijuana Delivery Services in California
|M-Delivers||Eaze||Purple Star MD|
|Service: Oakland, Greater San Diego Area Phone: (800) 226-6224||Service: Bay Area, Los Angeles, San Diego Website||Service: San Fransisco Phone: (415) 550-1515|
|TRESTL||Natural Green ReLeaf||Flowsent|
|Service: Bay Area Phone: (510) 788-7584||Service: Bay Area Phone:(888) 344-2019||Service: Oakland Area, Sacramento Phone: (833) 356-9736|
Editor’s note: This article was written in order to deliver information to our readers for educational purposes only. Wikileaf does not support the purchase, delivery, possession, or consumption of cannabis that doesn’t align with state or local laws. Please make sure to research state and local regulations before making your cannabis purchases.